Lincolnshire Chess Association

Minor Counties Competition (2023-24)

MCCU Minor Counties Championship
Position Teams Pl W D L Pts
1 Lincolnshire 1 1 0 0 2
2 Worcestershire 1 0 0 1 0

MCCU Minor Counties Championship Match Results
Date Match Result
2 Dec Worcestershire v Lincolnshire 7-9

Worcestershire v Lincolnshire

Report from Nigel Birtwistle

Lincolnshire travelled to Sharnford in Leicestershire at the beginning of December to play Worcestershire which was to be their only match in the Open section of the MCCU Championship. The venue at Sharnford proved an excellent choice to host the match and the comfortable facilities were enjoyed by all. A close match was in prospect especially as our opponents had managed to recruit WGM Katazyna Toma to play but I was still confident of victory as our team still had several players in our ranks who had been a part of our successful teams in recent years. My forecast of a close scoreline proved correct as Lincolnshire won by a 9-7 margin but victory was already secured with four games to play until a late rally from Worcestershire made the match score much closer. The result meant that Lincolnshire retained the MCCU Championship and that both teams qualified for the National Stages of the Minor Counties Competition as our respective counties were the only teams to enter the competition this season. The reluctance of the other MCCU Counties to commit to fielding teams again this year was disappointing. This may be down to a lack of people who are willing to captain the teams, but it seems like there is a definite lack of enthusiasm for county chess in the MCCU. Lincolnshire are one of the least populous counties but we still value county team competitions very highly and we make every effort to field a team. The next match for the Lincolnshire team will be in early May in the Quarter Finals of the Minor Counties Competition.

Date: 2/12/22
Venue: Sharnford
Worcestershire (Home team) Lincolnshire (Away team)
Board Colour Name Club Grade Score Name Club Grade
1 W Katarzyna Toma Worcestershire 2364 1-0 Craig Whitfield Lincolnshire 2284
2 B Dan Lambourne Redditch 2076 ½-½ Paul Cumbers Grantham 2255
3 W Lee Davis Malvern 2076 ½-½ Jason Dilley Grantham 2189
4 B John Edge Halesown 2055 0-1 Steve Prior Grantham 2184
5 W Joseph Friar Kidderminster 2040 ½-½ Nigel Birtwistle Grantham 2147
6 B Peter Kitson Worcester 2022 0-1 Nick Stead Grimsby 2145
7 W John Wrench Kidderminster 1972 ½-½ Joe Kilshaw Appleby Frodingham 2062
8 B Brian Turner Malvern 1950 ½-½ David Coates Lincoln 2031
9 W Gavin Cartwright Longbridge 1881 1-0 Alex Royle Grantham 2009
10 B Joe Rastall Worcester 1879 ½-½ Robert K Taylor Lincolnshire 1895
11 W Stephen Woodhouse Longbridge 1793 0-1 Graham Ladds Newark 1877
12 B Philip Maddocks Longbridge 1758 1-0 Eric Gibbon Lincolnshire 1865
13 W David Waud Kidderminster 1741 ½-½ Andy Hebert Grantham 1852
14 B Roger Aris Malvern 1711 ½-½ Denis Georgiou Appleby Frodingham 1844
15 W Tony Shaw Worcester 1708 0-1 Stuart MacDonald Grimsby 1808
16 B Kieran Lappin Malvern 1690 0-1 Chris Holt Grantham 1790